Happy Birthday, Morgan Freeman

If the chance were to occur that I discovered a magic lamp and I was offered one wish to meet whomever I desired, I would choose Morgan Freeman.

Ever since he captured my youthful heart in The Shawshank Redemption (1994), I have become enthralled by his soothing voice, contagious smile, and distinct laugh.

Today, my favourite man turns 74 and it appears that he is not slowing down. He is always busy, whether creating Academy Award worthy characters (he’s been nominated 5 times, and won for Million Dollar Baby in 2005), or just providing that hypnotic voice to sell you on using your VISA card in commercials throughout North America, he can do no wrong. I mean, who is capable of playing a living legend (Nelson Mandela in Invictus) and you actually believe he IS him? Kind of eerie, but it is just proof of his undeniable talent.

What I admire most about Freeman is the range of roles he has played. He caters to all generations, whether appearing in Chris Nolan’s Batman Begins and The Dark Knight, or playing God in Bruce Almighty, or playing the President of the United States in Deep Impact, or simply narrating the remarkable journey of penguins in March of the Penguins. He has tapped into almost every type of character available (maybe not so much the romantic parts, which is fins by me) and I do not think there has ever been a time where I did not enjoy his performance.

So here is to hoping that his relaxing voice continues to touch the hearts of people everywhere for years to come.

Leave a Reply

