Toronto International Film Festival

If you are a keen and dedicated film buff who struggled or is currently struggling with the TIFF box office for the upcoming festival, I just have to say patience is definitely a virtue. Yes, it is cliché, but now that I am done drowning in that vortex, I can now brag about surfacing with tickets to two fabulous premiere films that have tickled me pink (again, sorry for the cliché!).

First, there is Twixt, Francis Ford Coppola’s new film that he wrote, produced, and directed. Val Kilmer and Elle fanning star in the film but that does not really sway me. Honestly, if I catch a glimpse of Coppola, I will bow down and sing my praises like every other film aficionado out there who appreciates and respects a brilliant as well as influential artist.

Francis "Lord" Coppola

Then there is Shame, starring Carey Mulligan and the man who has my heart, Michael Fassbender. Again, if I see this suave human being in the flesh I might just be content enough to accept death at any given moment. The film is directed by Steve McQueen and reunites him with Fassbender, who starred in his directorial debut Hunger in 2008.

Fassbender shooting "Shame" in New York City

Another film that I am eager to see is Like Crazy, starring Anton Yelchin (Star Trek), Felicity Jones, and the fabulous Jennifer Lawrence. I had to cave into a youthful love drama, they are like coffee…an addiction you do not like to admit you are dependent upon to function properly!

Watch this trailer for Like Crazy and you will understand my habit.

This festival cannot commence fast enough but at least now my ticket buying anxiety has subsided and I can rest a little, at least until the pandemonium begins!

Leave a Reply

